Sunday, November 30, 2008

Endeavour to land at Edwards Air Force Base

With the forecasts predicting unfavorable weather at Florida's Kennedy Space Center proving true today and little hope of better conditions tomorrow, NASA has decided to divert space shuttle Endeavour's landing to the backup site at Edwards Air Force Base, California.

The deorbit burn is scheduled for 3:19 p.m. EST (12:19 p.m. local; 2019 GMT), leading to touchdown at 4:25 p.m. EST (1:25 p.m. local; 2125 GMT) to conclude the 16-day flight.

3 comments:

Christopher M. Lusardi said...

The '83 movie "The Right Stuff" will be shown on the AMC channel at 8PM Eastern on Thursday (Dec 4).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Right_Stuff_(film)


http://movies.amctv.com/schedule

Christopher M. Lusardi said...

The NASA channel earlier this morning showed the best video that I've seen to date of a Progress docking.

You could see the beautiful colors of the Earth, and the blue color of the Progress ship as it made small thrusts towards the ISS.

engstudent said...

Damaris

I found your blog interesting since I found it a week or 2 ago looking for stuff about students in engineering, space programs and the lunar xprize - it somehow led me to your blog which was a breath of fresh air.

Keep up the goodwork - keep on working towards your dreams. Youre an inspiration. Show us how its done.